Skip to content
Support

BACH : LA PASSION SELON SAINT JEAN

Summary

Concerts
  • From Saturday March 30th to Sunday March 31st 2024
  • Royal Chapel
  • 2h without intermission
Accueil BACH : LA PASSION SELON SAINT JEAN

Cast

  • Linard Vrielink Evangelist Tenor
  • Moritz Kallenberg Tenor
  • Nicolas Brooymans Jesus Bass-baritone
  • Halidou Nombre* Pilate, Baritone
  • Tölzer Knabenchor
  • Orchestre de l’Opéra Royal
  • Under the patronage of Aline Foriel-Destezet
  • Gaétan Jarry Conductor
  • *Member of the Académie Royale de Versailles
  • Concert in German with French surtitles

Presentation

Of the two passions of Bach which have been preserved, St. John was the first one to be composed, and was improved several times by the Cantor for different performances between 1724 and 1747. At Saint-Thomas Church in Leipzig, Bach had a choir and instrumental ensemble that was sufficiently well-trained to allow for the virtuosity of the arias and choruses of this rich passion, and he pushed the rhetoric to the extreme by emphasising the dramatic text as much as the doloristic text that it was meant to embody. It was by far the most extensive of his compositions and remains a favourite among audiences today for its extraordinary humanity.

Show more

Barely one year after his arrival in Leipzig, he performed this first great masterpiece for Good Friday in 1724. As such, you will be attending this exceptional evening on the three-hundred-year anniversary of the première of this masterful work. The Orchestra of the Opéra Royal, directed by Gaétan Jarry, will welcome renowned soloists and the formidable Tölzer Knabenchor.

 

Founded in 1956 near Munich, this boys’ choir is now the heir of seven decades of the most outstanding choral work. The choir – and in particular its young soloists – have performed around the world with, among others, Herbert von Karajan, Wolfgang Sawallisch, James Levine and Nikolaus Harnoncourt. Today, it is the greatest children’s choir and especially dazzling in the German holy music repertoire, which the boys sing with joy in their own language. Unforgettable.

Show less

Royal Chapel

More info

PRESTIGE VIP CATEGORY : Best seats in house with complimentary glass of champagne and programme.

 

PRESTIGE CATEGORY : Excellent seats with complimentary glass of champagne and programme.

 

REDUCED RATE applicable to under 26s, Chateau de Versailles Spectacles card holders and groups of more than 10 people (excluding special company offer).

 

To ensure the best welcome possible, people with limited mobility are advised to book their seats by telephone at +33 (0)1 30 83 78 89.

 

In case of any technical problem, the box office service remains available to complete your order by phone at +33 (0)1 30 83 78 89 (Monday-Friday from 11am to 6pm) or in our box office-shop (3 bis rue des Réservoirs, 78000 Versailles ; Monday-Friday from 11am to 6pm, and on Saturdays with concerts or shows except during the Musical Fountains Shows, from 2pm to 5pm).

Our offers

Subscription card

Château Versailles Spectacles

Valid for every event of The Royal Opera season and of the Versailles Palace !

Newsletter

Don’t miss any event !

Subscribe Subscribe

Aller au contenu
soutenir

Bach : La passion selon Saint Jean

Résumé

Concerts
  • Du samedi 30 mars au dimanche 31 mars 2024
  • Chapelle Royale
  • 2h sans entracte
Accueil BACH : LA PASSION SELON SAINT JEAN

Distribution

  • Linard Vrielink Évangéliste, ténor
  • Moritz Kallenberg Ténor
  • Nicolas Brooymans Jésus, baryton-basse
  • Halidou Nombre* Pilate, Baryton
  • Solistes et chœurs du Tölzer Knabenchor
  • Orchestre de l’Opéra Royal
  • Sous le haut patronage de Aline Foriel-Destezet
  • Gaétan Jarry Direction
  • *Membre de l’Académie de l’Opéra Royal
  • Concert en allemand surtitré en français

Présentation

Des deux passions de Bach conservées, la saint Jean fut la première composée, et remise plusieurs fois sur le métier par le Cantor pour des exécutions différentes entre 1724 et 1747. À Saint-Thomas de Leipzig, Bach disposait d’un ensemble choral et instrumental suffisamment aguerri pour permettre la virtuosité des airs et chœurs de cette passion charnue, et il a poussé au maximum les effets de rhétorique mettant en valeur le texte dramatique autant que doloriste qu’il devait incarner. C’était alors de loin la plus vaste de ses compositions : elle est restée l’une des préférées du public aujourd’hui encore pour son humanité extraordinaire.

Afficher plus

À peine un an après son arrivée à Leipzig, il donna ainsi ce premier grand chef-d’œuvre pour le Vendredi Saint de 1724. Vous assisterez donc lors de cette soirée exceptionnelle à l’anniversaire des trois cents ans de la création de cette œuvre magistrale. L’Orchestre de l’Opéra Royal dirigé par Gaétan Jarry accueillera des solistes de renom et le formidable Tölzer Knabenchor.

 

Fondé en 1956 près de Munich, ce chœur de garçons est aujourd’hui l’héritier de sept décennies de travail choral de la plus haute exigence. Le chœur et notamment ses enfants solistes se sont produits dans le monde entier, avec entre autres Herbert von Karajan, Wolfgang Sawallisch, James Levine, Nikolaus Harnoncourt… Il est aujourd’hui le meilleur chœur d’enfants, particulièrement éblouissant  dans le répertoire de la musique sacrée en allemand, que les garçons chantent avec le bonheur de s’exprimer dans leur propre langue : inoubliables !

 

Les Productions de l’Opéra Royal

Afficher moins

Chapelle Royale

En savoir plus

CATÉGORIE PRESTIGE VIP : Les meilleures places de la salle, le programme et une coupe de champagne offerts.

 

CATÉGORIE PRESTIGE : De très bonnes places, le programme et une coupe de champagne offerts.

 

TARIF RÉDUIT accordé pour les moins de 26 ans, les porteurs de la carte Château de Versailles Spectacles et les groupes de plus de 10 personnes (hors formule Entreprise).

 

L’équipe billetterie est à votre disposition par téléphone au 01 30 83 78 89 (du lundi au vendredi de 11h à 18h) ou sur place dans notre billetterie-boutique (3 bis rue des Réservoirs, 78000 Versailles ; du lundi au vendredi de 11h à 18h, ainsi que les samedis de spectacles hors Grandes Eaux Musicales de 14h à 17h).

 

Pour un meilleur accueil, il est conseillé aux personnes à mobilité réduite de réserver leurs places par téléphone.

Carte abonnement

Château Versailles Spectacles

Valable sur toute la saison musicale de l’Opéra Royal et du Château de Versailles.

Newsletter

Ne ratez aucun événement !

Je m’abonne Je m’abonne