Skip to content
Support

Beethoven: Emperor Concerto

Summary

Concerts
  • Monday March 18th 2024
  • Royal Opera
  • 8pm | 1h50 with intermission
Accueil BEETHOVEN : L’EMPEREUR

Distribution

  • Hyuk Lee Piano
  • Orchestre de l'Opéra Royal
  • Under the patronage of Aline Foriel-Destezet
  • Victor Jacob Conductor

Presentation

Beethoven’s Symphony No. 5 is one of the most famous works in the classical repertoire. This piece, which germinated in Beethoven’s mind long before it was first composed in 1805 and premièred in Vienna in 1808, is especially well-known for its emblematic four-note rhythmic motif, which the composer characterised as “fate knocking at my door”. But it is the inexhaustible energy of “Freedom”, inspired by the French Revolution and even the early Empire, that drove Beethoven to an exceptional exaltation never before achieved in music. The Opéra Royal Orchestra will showcase all the majesty of this essential symphony.

Show more

Beethoven’s energetic, heroic, triumphant final concerto for piano is also his most famous. He composed his Piano Concerto No. 5 in 1809, against a backdrop of the Napoleonic Wars. Living in Vienna while he was composing it, he witnessed clashes between the French and Austrian armies. “What a disturbing, chaotic life I see all around me – nothing but drums, cannons, and human misery of all kinds,” wrote Beethoven. However, despite the clamour of battles, the composer retained his creative verve, writing this brilliant concerto with its flourishes of arpeggios, trills and scales, which unfurl from the masterful hands of Hyuk Lee. The twenty-three-year-old Korean virtuoso, who made a name for himself in France after winning First Prize at the Long-Thibaud Competition in 2022, continues to win over European audiences. Versailles will be no exception, accompanied by Victor Jacob conducting the Opéra Royal Orchestra!

 

The Royal Opera Productions

Show less

Programme

Ludwing van Beethoven (1770-1827)
Concerto for piano and orchestra No. 5: The Emperor (1811)
Symphony No. 5 (1808)

Royal Opera

More info

PRESTIGE VIP CATEGORY : Best seats in house with complimentary glass of champagne and programme.

 

PRESTIGE CATEGORY : Excellent seats with complimentary glass of champagne and programme.

 

REDUCED RATE applicable to under 26s, Chateau de Versailles Spectacles card holders and groups of more than 10 people (excluding special company offer).

 

To ensure the best welcome possible, people with limited mobility are advised to book their seats by telephone at +33 (0)1 30 83 78 89.

 

In case of any technical problem, the box office service remain available to complete your order by phone at +33 (0)1 30 83 78 89 (Monday-Friday from 11am to 6pm) or in our box office-shop (3 bis rue des Réservoirs, 78000 Versailles ; Monday-Friday from 11am to 6pm, and on Saturdays with concerts or shows except during the Musical Fountains Shows, from 2pm to 5pm).

Subscription card

Château Versailles Spectacles

Valid for every event of The Royal Opera season and of the Versailles Palace !

Newsletter

Don’t miss any event !

Subscribe Subscribe

Aller au contenu
soutenir

BEETHOVEN : L'EMPEREUR

Résumé

Concerts
Accueil BEETHOVEN : L’EMPEREUR

Distribution

  • Hyuk Lee Piano
  • Orchestre de l'Opéra Royal
  • Sous le haut patronage de Aline Foriel-Destezet
  • Victor Jacob Direction

Présentation

La Symphonie n°5 de Beethoven est une des œuvres les plus célèbres du répertoire classique. Cette œuvre qui bourgeonnait dans la tête de Beethoven bien avant le début de sa composition en 1805 et sa création à Vienne en 1808, est particulièrement connue pour son emblématique motif rythmique de quatre notes, que le compositeur décrit comme « le destin frappant à ma porte ». Mais c’est l’énergie inépuisable de la « Liberté » inspirée de la Révolution française et même des débuts de l’Empire qui pousse Beethoven à une exaltation exceptionnelle, jamais atteinte avant lui par la musique. L’Orchestre de l’Opéra Royal saura rendre tout le grandiose de cette œuvre symphonique incontournable.

Afficher plus

Énergique, héroïque, triomphant… le dernier concerto pour piano de Beethoven est aussi le plus renommé. Beethoven compose son Concerto pour piano n° 5 en 1809 en pleines guerres Napoléoniennes. Résidant à Vienne, il est pendant la composition le témoin des affrontements entre les armées française et autrichienne. « Quelle vie épuisante et dévastatrice autour de moi ; rien que tambours, canons, misères humaines de tout genre » écrit Beethoven, cependant malgré le fracas des batailles, Beethoven conserve sa verve créative et compose ce concerto brillant où arpèges, trilles et gammes déferlent sur le clavier que Hyuk Lee dompte à merveille. Le virtuose coréen de 23 ans, repéré en France après son Premier Prix du Concours Long-Thibaud en 2022 ne cesse de conquérir le public européen et ne manquera pas de séduire Versailles accompagné par Victor Jacob à la tête de l’Orchestre de l’Opéra Royal !

 

Les Productions de l’Opéra Royal

Afficher moins

Programme

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
Concerto pour piano et orchestre n°5 : L’Empereur (1811)
Symphonie n°5 (1808)

Opéra Royal

En savoir plus
Tarifs
Prestige VIP

162€

  • Tarif Plein
    162€
Prestige

124€ à 140€

  • Tarif Plein
    140€
  • Tarif moins de 26 ans
    124€
  • Carte CVS
    124€
Catégorie 1

95€ à 108€

  • Tarif Plein
    108€
  • Tarif moins de 26 ans
    95€
  • Carte CVS
    95€
Catégorie 2

68€ à 81€

  • Tarif Plein
    81€
  • Tarif moins de 26 ans
    68€
  • Carte CVS
    68€
Catégorie 3

45€ à 54€

  • Tarif Plein
    54€
  • Tarif moins de 26 ans
    45€
  • Carte CVS
    45€

Possibilité de réservation de places via le Pass Culture dans la limite des quotas alloués à l’opération.

 

CATÉGORIE PRESTIGE VIP : Les meilleures places de la salle, le programme et une coupe de champagne offerts.

 

CATÉGORIE PRESTIGE : De très bonnes places, le programme et une coupe de champagne offerts.

 

TARIF RÉDUIT accordé pour les moins de 26 ans, les porteurs de la carte Château de Versailles Spectacles et les groupes de plus de 10 personnes (hors formule Entreprise).

 

L’équipe billetterie est à votre disposition par téléphone au 01 30 83 78 89 (du lundi au vendredi de 11h à 18h) ou sur place dans notre billetterie-boutique (3 bis rue des Réservoirs, 78000 Versailles ; du lundi au vendredi de 11h à 18h, ainsi que les samedis de spectacles hors Grandes Eaux Musicales de 14h à 17h).

 

Pour un meilleur accueil, il est conseillé aux personnes à mobilité réduite de réserver leurs places par téléphone.

 

Carte abonnement

Château Versailles Spectacles

Valable sur toute la saison musicale de l’Opéra Royal et du Château de Versailles.

Newsletter

Ne ratez aucun événement !

Je m’abonne Je m’abonne