Skip to content
Support

Cimarosa : L'Olimpiade

Summary

Opera in concert version
  • Thursday May 16th 2024
  • Royal Opera
  • 8 p.m | 3h including intermission
Accueil CIMAROSA : L’OLIMPIADE

Cast

  • Opera in two acts to a libretto by Pietro Metastasio, premiered in Vicenza in 1784.
  • Josh Lovell Clistene
  • Rocío Pérez Aristea
  • Marie Lys Argene
  • Maite Beaumont Megacle
  • Mathilde Ortscheidt Licida
  • Alex Banfield Aminta
  • Les Talens Lyriques
  • Christophe Rousset Conductor
  • Concert in Italian with French and English surtitles.

Presentation

Born in 1749, by the late 18th century Cimarosa was one of the leading composers in all of Europe. It was during his most prolific period, when he produced operas in Naples, Florence, Rome, Turin, Verona and Venice, that he created L’Olimpiade, premiered in Vicenza in 1784. To Pietre Metastasio’s already-famous libretto, this great opera seria is transfigured into a sumptuous bel canto drama. The athletes competing in the Games at Olympia are elevated to heroes by Cimarosa, with the winner set to marry Princess Aristaea. Unaware of this promise, Magacles agrees to pose as Prince Lycidas. But when he emerges victorious, he discovers his prize, Aristaea, whom he has always loved but must hand over to Lycidas…

 

This seemingly inextricable plot grants Cimarosa the most extraordinary arias ever to be composed to this libretto, perfectly in keeping with the “Olympic spirit” of summer in Versailles. Christophe Rousset, the great champion of the Italian fin de siècle repertoire, leads a stunning cast in this bel canto tempest !

Show more

“The end of the first act of L’Olimpiade had made a great impression on me the first time I heard it. I had always had it in mind to perform this opera one day, and when Château de Versailles Spectacles proposed that Les Talens Lyriques present it on the occasion of the celebration of the Olympic Games in Paris, I was absolutely delighted! Cimarosa is known above all for his comedies, such as Il matrimonio segreto, but also Il marito disperato and Il mercato di Malmantile, two operas that I had conducted with Les Talens Lyriques.

 

L’Olimpiade, a tragic piece, sparkles with technical virtuosity, but it is also very tense in its expression; the passions are clearly represented in the music. All this work makes Cimarosa’s music absolutely exquisite, and there is no doubt that Josh Lovell and Rocío Pérez, two great virtuosos whom I am delighted to see again, will absolutely do it justice, as will Maité Beaumont, Sophie Harmsen, Marie Lys and others, who appear regularly with Les Talens Lyriques, and the very promising young tenor, Alex Banfield.  Returning to this Neapolitan music and this classical style is like going back thirty years in time to the very early days of Les Talens Lyriques, when we were recording works such as Jommelli’s Armida abbandonata or Traetta’s Antigona.”

Christophe Rousset

With the support of ADOR – Les Amis de l’Opéra Royal 

Show less

Video

Royal Opera

More info
Prices
Prestige VIP

119€

  • Tarif Plein
    119€
Prestige

92€ à 106€

  • Tarif Plein
    106€
  • Tarif moins de 26 ans
    92€
  • Carte CVS
    92€
Catégorie 1

32€ à 65€

  • Tarif Plein
    65€
  • Tarif moins de 26 ans
    54€
  • Carte CVS
    54€
  • Promo Carte CVS
    32€
Catégorie 2

24€ à 49€

  • Tarif Plein
    49€
  • Tarif moins de 26 ans
    41€
  • Carte CVS
    41€
  • Promo Carte CVS
    24€
Catégorie 3

22€ à 27€

  • Tarif Plein
    27€
  • Tarif moins de 26 ans
    22€
  • Carte CVS
    22€

PRESTIGE VIP CATEGORY : Best seats in house with complimentary glass of champagne and programme.

 

PRESTIGE CATEGORY : Excellent seats with complimentary glass of champagne and programme.

 

REDUCED RATE applicable to under 26s, Chateau de Versailles Spectacles card holders and groups of more than 10 people (excluding special company offer).

 

To ensure the best welcome possible, people with limited mobility are advised to book their seats by telephone at +33 (0)1 30 83 78 89.

 

In case of any technical problem, the box office service remains available to complete your order by phone at +33 (0)1 30 83 78 89 (Monday-Friday from 11am to 6pm) or in our box office-shop (3 bis rue des Réservoirs, 78000 Versailles ; Monday-Friday from 11am to 6pm, and on Saturdays with concerts or shows except during the Musical Fountains Shows, from 2pm to 5pm).

Subscription card

Château Versailles Spectacles

Valid for every event of The Royal Opera season and of the Versailles Palace !

Newsletter

Don’t miss any event !

Subscribe Subscribe

Aller au contenu
soutenir

Cimarosa : L'Olimpiade

Résumé

Opéra en version concert
Accueil CIMAROSA : L’OLIMPIADE

Distribution

  • Opéra en deux actes sur un livret de Pietro Metastasio, créé à Vicence en 1784.
  • Josh Lovell Clistene
  • Rocío Pérez Aristea
  • Marie Lys Argene
  • Maite Beaumont Megacle
  • Mathilde Ortscheidt Licida
  • Alex Banfield Aminta
  • Les Talens Lyriques
  • Christophe Rousset Direction
  • Concert en italien surtitré en français et en anglais.

Présentation

Né en 1749, Cimarosa fut à la fin du XVIIIe siècle l’un des compositeurs majeurs de toute l’Europe. C’est dans sa période la plus féconde, alors qu’il produit des opéras à Naples, Florence, Rome, Turin, Vérone, Venise, qu’il produit son Olimpiade, créée en 1784 à Vicence. Sur le livret déjà célèbre de Pietro Métastase, ce grand opéra seria est transfiguré en un somptueux drame de bel canto. Cimarosa porte à l’héroïsme les athlètes qui s’affrontent à Olympie dans les Jeux dont le vainqueur épousera la Princesse Aristea. Sans savoir cette promesse, Megacle accepte de se faire passer pour le Prince Licida. Mais victorieux, il découvre le lot du vainqueur : Aristea, qu’il aime depuis toujours et devrait remettre à Licida…

 

En apparence inextricable, l’intrigue permet à Cimarosa les airs les plus extraordinaires qui aient été composés sur ce livret parfaitement en phase avec « l’esprit d’Olympie » de l’été Versaillais. Christophe Rousset, grand défenseur du répertoire italien fin de siècle, emporte une distribution éblouissante dans cet ouragan bel-cantiste !

 

Afficher plus

J’avais été très impressionné la première fois que j’ai entendu la fin du premier acte de l’Olimpiade, j’avais toujours eu en tête de jouer cet opéra un jour, et quand il m’a été proposé par Château de Versailles Spectacles, à l’occasion de la célébration des Jeux Olympiques, j’ai été absolument ravi ! Nous connaissons essentiellement Cimarosa pour ses œuvres comiques comme Il matrimonio segreto mais aussi Il marito disperato et Il mercato di Malmantile, deux opéras que j’avais dirigés avec les Talens Lyriques.

 

Cette œuvre tragique qu’est l’Olimpiade est étincelante du point de vue de la virtuosité technique, mais on y trouve également une expression très tendue, les passions clairement mises en musique. Tout ce travail rend la musique de Cimarosa absolument exquise et nul doute qu’elle sera parfaitement mise en valeur par deux virtuoses que je me réjouis de retrouver : Josh Lovell et Rocío Pérez, les autres chanteurs fidèles des Talens Lyriques comme Maité Beaumont, Sophie Harmsen, Marie Lys puis Alex Barmfield, jeune ténor récemment découvert. Revenir à cette musique napolitaine et à ce style classique, c’est comme se replonger trente ans en arrière, aux débuts des Talens Lyriques quand nous enregistrions Armida abbandonata de Jommelli ou Antigona de Traetta.

 

 

Christophe Rousset

 

 

 

Avec le soutien exceptionnel de l’ADOR – les Amis de l’Opéra Royal 

 

Afficher moins

Opéra Royal

En savoir plus
Tarifs
Prestige VIP

119€

  • Tarif Plein
    119€
Prestige

92€ à 106€

  • Tarif Plein
    106€
  • Tarif moins de 26 ans
    92€
  • Carte CVS
    92€
Catégorie 1

54€ à 65€

  • Tarif Plein
    65€
  • Tarif moins de 26 ans
    54€
  • Carte CVS
    54€
Catégorie 2

41€ à 49€

  • Tarif Plein
    49€
  • Tarif moins de 26 ans
    41€
  • Carte CVS
    41€
Catégorie 3

22€ à 27€

  • Tarif Plein
    27€
  • Tarif moins de 26 ans
    22€
  • Carte CVS
    22€

CATÉGORIE PRESTIGE VIP : Les meilleures places de la salle, le programme et une coupe de champagne offerts.

 

CATÉGORIE PRESTIGE : De très bonnes places, le programme et une coupe de champagne offerts.

 

TARIF RÉDUIT accordé pour les moins de 26 ans, les porteurs de la carte Château de Versailles Spectacles et les groupes de plus de 10 personnes (hors formule Entreprise).

 

L’équipe billetterie est à votre disposition par téléphone au 01 30 83 78 89 (du lundi au vendredi de 11h à 18h) ou sur place dans notre billetterie-boutique (3 bis rue des Réservoirs, 78000 Versailles ; du lundi au vendredi de 11h à 18h, ainsi que les samedis de spectacles hors Grandes Eaux Musicales de 14h à 17h).

 

Pour un meilleur accueil, il est conseillé aux personnes à mobilité réduite de réserver leurs places par téléphone.

 

Carte abonnement

Château Versailles Spectacles

Valable sur toute la saison musicale de l’Opéra Royal et du Château de Versailles.

Newsletter

Ne ratez aucun événement !

Je m’abonne Je m’abonne