Skip to content
Support

HANDEL : ISRAEL IN EGYPT

Summary

Concerts
  • Sunday March 24th 2024
  • Royal Chapel
  • 3pm | 2h including intermission
Accueil HAENDEL : ISRAEL EN EGYPTE

Cast

  • Monteverdi Choir
  • English Baroque Soloists
  • David Bates Conductor
  • Concert in English with French surtitles

Presentation


As Sir John Eliot Gardiner will not be conducting this concert, the Monteverdi Choir will be led by conductor David Bates, a leading Handel specialist.

We apologize for this change of direction, which is beyond our control.


 

Israel in Egypt is something of an oddity in Handel’s career: begun in 1739, just three days after he finished writing Saul, this new oratorio written on two holy texts (like Messiah but two years earlier), was intended to be performed in theatres. What’s more, Handel included twenty-eight choruses for just four arias and three duets, an entirely unprecedented balance that unnerved the audience at the première, who were already scandalised by this religious music being played in a secular space like an opera.

Show more

However, it became an essential work in the following centuries, fitting for colossal, unifying and somewhat patriotic interpretations. Today, it is a fantastical choral celebration, an astonishingly realistic illustration of the plagues of Egypt and the crossing of the Red Sea, the waves parted by Moses, ultimately destroying the Pharaoh’s troops. This is Hollywood before its time!

 

David Bates has developed a passion for Handel that he conveys with incredible precision through his Monteverdi Choir. Revisiting Israel in Egypt, he invites the audience to an impressive demonstration of the excellence the choir – the greatest choir in the world – in all its glory in the Chapelle Royale!

Show less

Royal Chapel

More info

PRESTIGE VIP CATEGORY : Best seats in house with complimentary glass of champagne and programme.

 

PRESTIGE CATEGORY : Excellent seats with complimentary glass of champagne and programme.

 

REDUCED RATE applicable to under 26s, Chateau de Versailles Spectacles card holders and groups of more than 10 people (excluding special company offer).

 

To ensure the best welcome possible, people with limited mobility are advised to book their seats by telephone at +33 (0)1 30 83 78 89.

 

In case of any technical problem, the box office service remains available to complete your order by phone at +33 (0)1 30 83 78 89 (Monday-Friday from 11am to 6pm) or in our box office-shop (3 bis rue des Réservoirs, 78000 Versailles ; Monday-Friday from 11am to 6pm, and on Saturdays with concerts or shows except during the Musical Fountains Shows, from 2pm to 5pm).

Subscription card

Château Versailles Spectacles

Valid for every event of The Royal Opera season and of the Versailles Palace !

Newsletter

Don’t miss any event !

Subscribe Subscribe

Aller au contenu
soutenir

HAENDEL : ISRAEL EN EGYPTE

Résumé

Concerts
Accueil HAENDEL : ISRAEL EN EGYPTE

Distribution

  • Monteverdi Choir
  • English Baroque Soloists
  • David Bates Direction
  • Concert en anglais surtitré en français

Présentation


Sir John Eliot Gardiner devant renoncer à diriger ce concert, le Monteverdi Choir sera dirigé par le chef David Bates, éminent spécialiste de Haendel.

Nous nous excusons de ce changement de direction indépendant de notre volonté.


 

Dans la carrière de Haendel, Israel in Egypt est un ovni : commencé en 1739, trois jours seulement après la fin de l’écriture de Saül, ce nouvel oratorio écrit sur des textes sacrés (comme Le Messie, mais deux ans avant lui), fut destiné à être représenté dans des théâtres. De surcroît, Haendel y plaça vingt-huit chœurs pour seulement quatre airs et trois duos : équilibre totalement inédit, qui désarçonna le public de la création, déjà scandalisé par cette musique liturgique jouée dans un espace profane comme un opéra.

Afficher plus

L’œuvre devint cependant un must des siècles suivants, propre à des interprétations colossales et fédératrices, en quelque sorte patriotiques. De nos jours, c’est surtout une fantastique fête chorale, dépeignant avec un étonnant réalisme les plaies d’Égypte et le passage de la Mer Rouge, les eaux ouvertes par Moïse s’abattant finalement sur les troupes du Pharaon. Hollywood avant l’heure, assurément !

 

David Bates  a conçu pour Haendel une passion qu’il communique avec une incroyable précision à son Monteverdi Choir. Pour Israël en Egypte, c’est avant tout à une impressionnante démonstration de l’excellence du chœur qu’est convié le public : le meilleur chœur du monde resplendit dans la Chapelle Royale !

Afficher moins

  • test

Chapelle Royale

En savoir plus

CATÉGORIE PRESTIGE VIP : Les meilleures places de la salle, le programme et une coupe de champagne offerts.

 

CATÉGORIE PRESTIGE : De très bonnes places, le programme et une coupe de champagne offerts.

 

TARIF RÉDUIT accordé pour les moins de 26 ans, les porteurs de la carte Château de Versailles Spectacles et les groupes de plus de 10 personnes (hors formule Entreprise).

 

L’équipe billetterie est à votre disposition par téléphone au 01 30 83 78 89 (du lundi au vendredi de 11h à 18h) ou sur place dans notre billetterie-boutique (3 bis rue des Réservoirs, 78000 Versailles ; du lundi au vendredi de 11h à 18h, ainsi que les samedis de spectacles hors Grandes Eaux Musicales de 14h à 17h).

 

Pour un meilleur accueil, il est conseillé aux personnes à mobilité réduite de réserver leurs places par téléphone.

Carte abonnement

Château Versailles Spectacles

Valable sur toute la saison musicale de l’Opéra Royal et du Château de Versailles.

Newsletter

Ne ratez aucun événement !

Je m’abonne Je m’abonne