Skip to content
Support

Charpentier: Te Deum

Summary

Concerts
Homepage Charpentier: Te Deum 2022

Cast

Gwendoline Blondeel Soprano 1

Cécile Achille Soprano 2

David Tricou Countertenor

Mathias Vidal Tenor

Geoffroy Buffière Baritone

La Chapelle Harmonique

Valentin Tournet Conductor

 

Presentation

Charpentier is the Angel of French Baroque music, but it is in the few years he spent in Italy in his youth that he developed his sense of pomp and circumstance as much as his sensitivity. The music he heard in Rome was demonstrative, colourful and profound, with many musicians placed throughout the church. In France, from 1661 onwards, Lully had turned the Grand Motet into a monument: Louis XIV’s superintendent of music subsequently produced several masterpieces requiring all the musical forces available, including for his own Te Deum in 1677, which was particularly inspired and grandiose.

Show more

It was in this vein of the Versailles ceremonial that Charpentier wrote the Te Deum that would make him famous in the twentieth century: performed for the military victory at Steinkerque in 1692, probably in the church of Saint-Louis-des-Jésuites, where Charpentier was the Maître de Chapelle, this work, which glorified the King’s arms, was a great success, but was never performed before Louis XIV. Since its rediscovery, this powerful fresco, whose prelude opens with the timpani and trumpets’ martial rhythms, has come to symbolise the Grand Siècle of the arts, but also of Louis XIV’s conquests. Young Valentin Tournet adds to the programme works that are much less well known, but whose splendour is also a reminder of the quality and expressiveness of official French music: the De Profundis is full of gravitas, while the Triumphal March sounds the trumpets of fame for the Greatest King in the World!

 

Concert dedicated to the memory of Joëlle Broguet, Founder of ADOR – Friends of the Royal Opera

Show less

Programme

Marc-Antoine Charpentier (1643 – 1704)

De Profundis H. 189

Magnificat H. 79

Marche de triomphe

Te Deum H. 146

The Royal Chapel of the Château de Versailles

More info
And also…

CD Charpentier – Te Deum

N°98
Now an iconic work, Charpentier’s Te Deum is one of the most beautiful pieces ever written, both brilliant and profound. Let yourself be carried away by this royal and sacred work, brilliantly conducted by Valentin Tournet in the presence of the Chapelle Harmonique.
More info
Newsletter

Don’t miss any event !

Subscribe Subscribe

Aller au contenu
soutenir

Charpentier : Te Deum

Résumé

Concerts
Accueil Charpentier : Te Deum 2022

Distribution

Gwendoline Blondeel Dessus 1

Cécile Achille Dessus 2

David Tricou Haute-contre

Mathias Vidal Taille

Geoffroy Buffière Basse-taille

La Chapelle Harmonique

Valentin Tournet Direction

 

Présentation

Charpentier est l’Ange de la musique baroque française, mais il sut tirer profit des quelques années passées en Italie dans sa jeunesse pour renforcer son sens de l’apparat autant que sa sensibilité. On entendait en effet à Rome des musiques démonstratives, colorées et profondes, à grand effectif réparti dans l’espace de l’église. Du côté français, Lully avait dès 1661 placé le Grand Motet au niveau d’une œuvre monumentale : le surintendant de la musique de Louis XIV produisit ensuite plusieurs chefs-d’œuvre requérant toutes les forces musicales disponibles, dont son propre Te Deum en 1677, particulierement inspiré et grandiose.

Afficher plus

C’est dans cette veine de la Pompe Versaillaise que Charpentier écrivit le Te Deum qui devait le faire connaitre au XXe siècle : jouée pour la victoire militaire de Steinkerque en 1692, sans doute en l’église Saint-Louis-des-Jésuites dont Charpentier était le maître de Chapelle, cette œuvre qui glorifiait les Armes du Roi eut un grand succès, mais ne devait cependant jamais être jouée devant Louis XIV. Depuis sa redécouverte, cette puissante fresque dont le prélude s’ouvre aux rythmes martiaux des timbales et des trompettes symbolise à elle seule le Grand Siècle des arts, mais aussi des conquêtes, de Louis XIV. Le jeune Valentin Tournet ajoute au programme des œuvres beaucoup moins connues, mais dont le faste vient également rappeler la qualité et l’expressivité de la musique officielle française : le De Profundis est d’une extraordinaire gravité, quand la Marche de triomphe sonne les trompettes de la Renommée pour le Plus Grand Roi du Monde !

 

Concert dédié à la mémoire de Joëlle Broguet, Fondatrice de l’ADOR – les Amis de l’Opéra de Royal

Afficher moins

Programme

Marc-Antoine Charpentier (1643 – 1704)

De Profundis H. 189

Magnificat H. 79

Marche de triomphe

Te Deum H. 146

La Chapelle Royale du Château de Versailles

En savoir plus
Et aussi…

CD Charpentier – Te Deum

N°98
Aujourd’hui œuvre emblématique, le Te Deum de Charpentier est une des plus belles pièces écrites, à la fois brillante et profonde. Laissez-vous donc porter par cette œuvre de circonstance royale et sacrée, brillamment dirigée par Valentin Tournet en présence de la Chapelle Harmonique.
En savoir plus
Newsletter

Ne ratez aucun événement !

Je m’abonne Je m’abonne