Skip to content
Support

Bach: Cantatas

Summary

Concerts
  • Saturday March 23rd 2024
  • Royal Chapel
  • 7pm | 1h10 without intermission
Accueil BACH : CANTATES

Cast

  • Caroline Weynants Soprano
  • Lucile Richardot Mezzo-soprano
  • Sebastian Maclaine Tenor
  • Sebastian Myrus Basse
  • Ensemble Correspondances
  • Sébastien Daucé Conductor

Presentation

Correspondances, which has been dedicated to French music since it was founded in 2009, arrived in Germany ten years later on the shores of the Baltic Sea. The ensemble has played music by the North German masters of the 17th century, as well as many travelling musicians who moved from court to court, from the Hanse to Denmark. Dietrich Buxtehude, the famous organist of St Mary’s, Lübeck, is the uncontested master of these lands in this period.

Show more

From Paris and Lübeck, the confluence of these two rivulets naturally leads us to the music of a young Johann Sebastian Bach. This musician, who was taught largely by his insatiable curiosity for the musical creations that came before him and for those of his time, was familiar with a considerable repertoire from a very young age. His music library attests to this, with French music featured prominently with works by François Couperin and Nicolas de Grigny. In Lüneburg, he met many French musicians, including one of Lully’s pupils. Bach had a particular affinity for French music throughout his life. With Charpentier or Rameau, he was also especially fond of the interwoven musical lines, a delicate balance between hypersensitivity, the utter intelligence of the text and a scientific quality that far exceeded their contemporaries. Indeed, this is another common point between the three geniuses: both in their lifetime and even later, they were considered too clever!

 

Johann Sebastian Bach took up his position in Mülhausen in 1707, where he composed his very first cantatas (the first among which was BWV131). This genre would become the backbone and lasting influence for his career and his work. In this first works, his own genius rubs happily along with inspiration from his masters, chief among them Buxtehude. Bach only remained in the role at Mülhausen for a few months before taking up a better position at the Weimar court, yet it was during this short period that the three splendid cantatas of this programme were born.

 

Sébastien Daucé lends them a profound musicality and exceptional beauty.

Show less

Programme

Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)
Aus der Tiefe ruf’ich Herr zu dir BWV 131
Actus Tragicus BWV106
Christ lag in Todesbanden BWV4

 

  Concert recorded by France Musique and broadcast on May 21st in the programme Le concert du soir 

 

Royal Chapel

More info

PRESTIGE VIP CATEGORY : Best seats in house with complimentary glass of champagne and programme.

 

PRESTIGE CATEGORY : Excellent seats with complimentary glass of champagne and programme.

 

REDUCED RATE applicable to under 26s, Chateau de Versailles Spectacles card holders and groups of more than 10 people (excluding special company offer).

 

To ensure the best welcome possible, people with limited mobility are advised to book their seats by telephone at +33 (0)1 30 83 78 89.

 

In case of any technical problem, the box office service remains available to complete your order by phone at +33 (0)1 30 83 78 89 (Monday-Friday from 11am to 6pm) or in our box office-shop (3 bis rue des Réservoirs, 78000 Versailles ; Monday-Friday from 11am to 6pm, and on Saturdays with concerts or shows except during the Musical Fountains Shows, from 2pm to 5pm).

Subscription card

Château Versailles Spectacles

Valid for every event of The Royal Opera season and of the Versailles Palace !

Newsletter

Don’t miss any event !

Subscribe Subscribe

Aller au contenu
soutenir

BACH : CANTATES

Résumé

Concerts
Accueil BACH : CANTATES

Distribution

  • Ji Yoon Soprano
  • Lucile Richardot Mezzo-soprano
  • Sebastian Maclaine Ténor
  • Sebastian Myrus Basse
  • Ensemble Correspondances
  • Sébastien Daucé Direction

Présentation

Correspondances, qui se consacre depuis sa création en 2009 à la musique française, est entré en territoire allemand dix ans plus tard par les rives de la mer Baltique. L’ensemble a ainsi joué la musique de maîtres germaniques du Nord du XVIIe siècle, mais aussi de beaucoup de musiciens voyageurs qui naviguaient alors de cour en cour depuis la Hanse jusqu’au Danemark. Dietrich Buxtehude, organiste célèbre de Sainte Marie de Lübeck, est le maître incontesté de ces terres en ce temps.

Afficher plus

De Paris et de Lübeck, la convergence de ces deux ruisseaux nous amène naturellement à la musique du jeune Johann Sebastian Bach. Ce musicien, formé en grande partie par sa curiosité insatiable des créations musicales qui l’ont précédé ou de celles de son temps, avait connaissance dès ses plus jeunes années d’un répertoire considérable. Sa bibliothèque musicale en atteste : la musique française y est en bonne place avec les œuvres de François Couperin ou de Nicolas de Grigny. Il avait rencontré à Lunebourg nombre de musiciens français dont un élève de Lully. Bach aura tout au long de sa vie une affinité particulière avec la musique française. Avec Charpentier ou Rameau il possède d’ailleurs un goût particulier pour les lignes musicales entremêlées, un dosage délicat entre une sensibilité à fleur de peau, une intelligence absolue du texte et une science dépassant de loin ses contemporains. C’est d’ailleurs encore un point commun entre ces trois génies : de leur vivant et même plus tard, ils sont jugés trop savants !

 

À Mülhausen donc, Johann Sebastien Bach arrive en poste en 1707 : c’est là qu’il compose ses toutes premières cantates (la toute première serait la BWV131). Ce genre marquera durablement sa carrière et son œuvre : il en constitue l’épine dorsale. Dans ces premières œuvres, son propre génie y côtoie avec bonheur l’inspiration de ses maîtres, en premier lieu celle de Buxtehude. Bach n’occupe son poste à Mülhausen que pour quelques mois avant de rejoindre une meilleure position à la cour de Weimar. C’est dans ce court séjour que naissent les quatre cantates splendides qui composent ce programme.

 

Sébastien Daucé leur rend une musicalité profonde et une beauté exceptionnelle.

Afficher moins

Programme

Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)
Christ lag in Todesbanden BWV4
Nach dir, Herr, verlanget mich BWV150
Actus Tragicus BWV106
Aus der Tiefe ruf’ich Herr zu dir BWV 131

Chapelle Royale

En savoir plus
Tarifs
Prestige VIP

119€

  • Tarif Plein
    119€
Prestige

92€ à 106€

  • Tarif Plein
    106€
  • Tarif moins de 26 ans
    92€
  • Carte CVS
    92€
Catégorie 1

54€ à 65€

  • Tarif Plein
    65€
  • Tarif moins de 26 ans
    54€
  • Carte CVS
    54€
Catégorie 2

41€ à 49€

  • Tarif Plein
    49€
  • Tarif moins de 26 ans
    41€
  • Carte CVS
    41€
Catégorie 3

22€ à 27€

  • Tarif Plein
    27€
  • Tarif moins de 26 ans
    22€
  • Carte CVS
    22€

CATÉGORIE PRESTIGE VIP : Les meilleures places de la salle, le programme et une coupe de champagne offerts.

 

CATÉGORIE PRESTIGE : De très bonnes places, le programme et une coupe de champagne offerts.

 

TARIF RÉDUIT accordé pour les moins de 26 ans, les porteurs de la carte Château de Versailles Spectacles et les groupes de plus de 10 personnes (hors formule Entreprise).

 

L’équipe billetterie est à votre disposition par téléphone au 01 30 83 78 89 (du lundi au vendredi de 11h à 18h) ou sur place dans notre billetterie-boutique (3 bis rue des Réservoirs, 78000 Versailles ; du lundi au vendredi de 11h à 18h, ainsi que les samedis de spectacles hors Grandes Eaux Musicales de 14h à 17h).

 

Pour un meilleur accueil, il est conseillé aux personnes à mobilité réduite de réserver leurs places par téléphone.

Carte abonnement

Château Versailles Spectacles

Valable sur toute la saison musicale de l’Opéra Royal et du Château de Versailles.

Newsletter

Ne ratez aucun événement !

Je m’abonne Je m’abonne