Skip to content
Support

Gluck / Berlioz : Orfeo and Euridice

Summary

Opera in staged version
  • From Thursday March 7th to Saturday March 10th 2024
  • Royal Opera
  • 1h40 without intermission
Accueil BERLIOZ / GLUCK : ORPHEE ET EURYDICE

Cast

  • Opera in four acts to a libretto by Pierre-Louis Moline. Version adapted by Hector Berlioz, premièred in Paris in 1859.
  • Marie-Claude Chappuis Orpheus
  • Mirella Hagen Eurydice
  • Julie Gebhart Love
  • Claire Carpentier, Elodie Chan, Tommy Entresangle, Charlotte Le May, Lise Pauton, Margherita Mischitelli Dancers and circus artists
  • Collegium 1704 Choir and Orchestra
  • Václav Luks Director
  • Aurélien Bory Stage direction and scenery
  • Taïcyr Fadel Dramaturgy
  • Pierre Dequivre Sets
  • Manuela Agnesini Costumes
  • Arno Veyrat Lighting
  • Hugues Cohen Assistant director
  • Raphaël Pichon Musical conception and arrangements of additional excerpts
  • Nicolas Sceaux Editions
  • Under the patronage of Aline Foriel-Destezet
  • Performance in French with French and English surtitles.

Presentation

Orfeo is without a doubt the opera of operas: from Monteverdi to Rossi, at the very origins of lyric art, then with Gluck and his reform of the opera in Italian in Vienna and in French in Paris, and ultimately with Berlioz in a romantic version (and before Offenbach’s brilliant parody), the romantic fate of this Greek poet is enduringly perpetuated on theatre stages. After Eurydice’s sudden death, Orpheus goes to seek his wife in the Underworld. His song has the power to appease the Furies and animate the Blessed Spirits, allowing the couple to return to the path of light… towards their destiny.

Show more

Gluck’s Orfeo ed Euridice caused a great stir in Enlightenment-era Europe. However, after 80 years of performances of the Paris version of Orfeo first presented by Gluck in 1774, the score used at the Paris Opera had been greatly transformed by regular use, the successive corrections and modifications corrupting the work. In 1859, Berlioz enthusiastically agreed to work on a revised version; his admiration for Gluck made him an intimate connoisseur of the work and its multiple Italian and French versions. He thus dissected it down to the last detail, in order to produce a “modern” version that was nevertheless true to Gluck. “Let us abandon ourselves fully to what moves our soul and not give in to anything that might prevent us from enjoying ourselves!” Berlioz threw himself into his task of adaptation with great enthusiasm, certain that he would finally produce the version of Orfeo that the Second Empire had been waiting for. He was right. “We are stunned!” said Berlioz of Orpheus’s grand aria, as the audience must also certainly have been.

 

For Berlioz, the title role required above all a great singer with “a powerful and noble organ”. And to return to Gluck’s original tessitura in Vienna, he chose the contralto voice (in place of a castrato) instead of the usual tenor, which made it possible to entrust the role to the great Pauline Viardot, the glory of the Opéra de Paris, whose voice had, according to Berlioz, “an exceptional range, at the service of a great art of broad phrasing, (…) an indomitable, lively, despotic verve, a deep sensibility and almost deplorable faculties for expressing immense pain!” All his Orpheus is there, never leaving the stage and guiding us with the music from shadow to light, the extraordinary power of music to overcome death…

 

The beauty of the work owes as much to the intensity of the exchanges as to the eloquence of the orchestra and the spectacular involvement of the choir. The Underworld act with its Furies, its chorus of Demons and the heart-rending supplications of Orpheus is one of the greatest moments in Western music. Director Aurélien Bory shapes the dizzying spaces through which Orpheus travels, brought to life by Marie-Claude Chappuis, while Václav Luks unleashes the wizardry of the musical virtuosi.

 

First performed on 12 October 2018 at the Opéra Comique
Co-production by the Opéra Royal / Château de Versailles Spectacles, Opéra Comique, Opéra de Lausanne, Opéra Royal de Wallonie, Théâtre de Caen, Les Théâtres de la Ville de Luxembourg

 

Musical conception and arrangements of additional excerpts: Raphaël Pichon
Editing: Nicolas Sceaux

Show less

Video

Royal Opera

More info
Prices
Prestige VIP

151€

  • Tarif Plein
    151€
Prestige

65€ à 130€

  • Tarif Plein
    130€
  • Tarif moins de 26 ans
    113€
  • Carte CVS
    113€
  • Promo Black Friday
    65€
Catégorie 1

46€ à 92€

  • Tarif Plein
    92€
  • Tarif moins de 26 ans
    78€
  • Carte CVS
    78€
  • Promo Black Friday
    46€
Catégorie 2

59€ à 70€

  • Tarif Plein
    70€
  • Tarif moins de 26 ans
    59€
  • Carte CVS
    59€
Catégorie 3

41€ à 49€

  • Tarif Plein
    49€
  • Tarif moins de 26 ans
    41€
  • Carte CVS
    41€

PRESTIGE VIP CATEGORY : Best seats in house with complimentary glass of champagne and programme.

 

PRESTIGE CATEGORY : Excellent seats with complimentary glass of champagne and programme.

 

REDUCED RATE applicable to under 26s, Chateau de Versailles Spectacles card holders and groups of more than 10 people (excluding special company offer).

 

To ensure the best welcome possible, people with limited mobility are advised to book their seats by telephone at +33 (0)1 30 83 78 89.

 

In case of any technical problem, the box office service remains available to complete your order by phone at +33 (0)1 30 83 78 89 (Monday-Friday from 11am to 6pm) or in our box office-shop (3 bis rue des Réservoirs, 78000 Versailles ; Monday-Friday from 11am to 6pm, and on Saturdays with concerts or shows except during the Musical Fountains Shows, from 2pm to 5pm).

Subscription card

Château Versailles Spectacles

Valid for every event of The Royal Opera season and of the Versailles Palace !

Newsletter

Don’t miss any event !

Subscribe Subscribe

Aller au contenu

La mise en vente de la saison musicale 2024-2025 approche à grands pas ! Découvrez sans plus tarder les dates d’ouverture des préventes !

En savoir plus
soutenir

BERLIOZ / GLUCK : ORPHEE ET EURYDICE

Résumé

Opéra mis en scène
  • Du jeudi 7 mars au dimanche 10 mars 2024
  • Opéra Royal
  • 1h40 sans entracte
Accueil BERLIOZ / GLUCK : ORPHEE ET EURYDICE

Distribution

  • Opéra en quatre actes sur un livret de Pierre-Louis Moline. Version remaniée par Hector Berlioz créée à Paris en 1859.
  • Marie-Claude Chappuis Orphée
  • Mirella Hagen Eurydice
  • Claire Carpentier, Elodie Chan, Tommy Entresangle, Charlotte Le May, Lise Pauton, Margherita Mischitelli Danseurs et circassiens
  • Collegium 1704 Chœur et Orchestre
  • Václav Luks Direction
  • Aurélien Bory Mise en scène et décors
  • Taïcyr Fadel Dramaturgie
  • Pierre Dequivre Décors
  • Manuela Agnesini Costumes
  • Arno Veyrat Lumières
  • Hugues Cohen Assistant mise en scène
  • Raphaël Pichon Conception musicale et arrangements des extraits additionnels
  • Nicolas Sceaux Editions
  • Spectacle en français surtitré en français et en anglais

Présentation

Orphée est sans doute l’opéra des opéras : de Monteverdi à Rossi, aux origines de l’art lyrique, puis chez Gluck imposant la réforme de l’opéra en italien à Vienne puis en français à Paris, enfin chez Berlioz dans une version romantique, (et avant Offenbach qui le parodie génialement) le sort amoureux de ce poète grec ne cesse d’envahir les plateaux de théâtre. Après la mort soudaine d’Eurydice, Orphée part chercher son épouse aux Enfers. Son chant a le pouvoir d’apaiser les Furies et d’animer les Ombres Heureuses, permettant au couple de reprendre le chemin de la lumière… vers leur destin.

Afficher plus

Orphée et Eurydice de Gluck bouleversa l’Europe des Lumières. Cependant après 80 ans de représentations de la version parisienne d’Orphée, créée par Gluck en 1774, la partition qui était jouée à l’Opéra de Paris avait été beaucoup transformée par un usage régulier qui avait fini par affaiblir l’œuvre à force de corrections et modifications successives. Berlioz accepta avec enthousiasme en 1859 d’en faire une version révisée : son admiration pour Gluck en faisait un connaisseur intime de l’œuvre et de ses multiples versions italiennes et française. Il la décortiqua ainsi dans les moindres détails, pour en restituer une version « moderne » qui se voulait cependant fidèle à Gluck. « Laissons-nous aller franchement aux choses qui nous prennent aux entrailles, et ne nous donnons pas de la peine pour nous empêcher d’avoir du plaisir ! » : autant dire que Berlioz se jeta dans sa tâche d’adaptation avec un fol enthousiasme, certain de donner enfin LA version d’Orphée que le Second Empire attendait. Et ce fut le cas : « on est saisi ! » dit Berlioz du grand air d’Orphée, et le public le fut incontestablement.

 

Dans l’esprit de Berlioz, le rôle-titre nécessitait avant tout un grand interprète doté « d’un organe puissant et noble ». Et pour revenir à la tessiture originale de Gluck à Vienne, il choisit la voix de contralto (tenant lieu d’un castrat) au lieu du ténor habituel, ce qui permettait de confier le rôle à la grande Pauline Viardot, gloire de l’Opéra de Paris, dont la voix avait selon Berlioz « une étendue exceptionnelle, au service d’un art de phraser le chant large, (…) une verve indomptable, entrainante, despotique, une sensibilité profonde et des facultés presque déplorables pour exprimer les immenses douleurs ! ». Tout son Orphée est là, qui ne quitte jamais le plateau et doit nous guider par sa musique de l’ombre à la lumière, pouvoir extraordinaire du chant de vaincre la mort…

 

La beauté de l’œuvre doit autant à l’intensité des échanges qu’à l’éloquence de l’orchestre et à l’implication spectaculaire du chœur. L’acte des Enfers avec ses Furies, son chœur des Démons, les déchirantes supplications d’Orphée… est l’un des plus grands moments de la musique occidentale. Le metteur en scène Aurélien Bory déploie les vertiges des espaces que parcourt Orphée, animé par Marie-Claude Chappuis alors que Václav Luks déploie les sortilèges des musiciens virtuoses.

 

Spectacle créé le 12 octobre 2018 à l’Opéra Comique
Coproduction Opéra Royal / Château de Versailles Spectacles, Opéra Comique, Opéra de Lausanne, Opéra Royal de Wallonie, Théâtre de Caen, Les Théâtres de la Ville de Luxembourg

 

Conception musicale et arrangements des extraits additionnels : Raphaël Pichon
Editions : Nicolas Sceaux

Afficher moins

  • Jeudi 7 mars à 19h30, le « 15 minutes avec » aura lieu au Foyer Royal avec Aurélien Bory, metteur en scène de Orphée et Eurydice

Vidéo

Opéra Royal

En savoir plus

Possibilité de réservation de places via le Pass Culture dans la limite des quotas alloués à l’opération.

 

CATÉGORIE PRESTIGE VIP : Les meilleures places de la salle, le programme et une coupe de champagne offerts.

 

CATÉGORIE PRESTIGE : De très bonnes places, le programme et une coupe de champagne offerts.

 

TARIF RÉDUIT accordé pour les moins de 26 ans, les porteurs de la carte Château de Versailles Spectacles et les groupes de plus de 10 personnes (hors formule Entreprise).

 

L’équipe billetterie est à votre disposition par téléphone au 01 30 83 78 89 (du lundi au vendredi de 11h à 18h) ou sur place dans notre billetterie-boutique (3 bis rue des Réservoirs, 78000 Versailles ; du lundi au vendredi de 11h à 18h, ainsi que les samedis de spectacles hors Grandes Eaux Musicales de 14h à 17h).

 

Pour un meilleur accueil, il est conseillé aux personnes à mobilité réduite de réserver leurs places par téléphone.

Carte abonnement

Château Versailles Spectacles

Valable sur toute la saison musicale de l’Opéra Royal et du Château de Versailles.

Newsletter

Ne ratez aucun événement !

Je m’abonne Je m’abonne