Skip to content

Hall of Mirrors

Homepage Hall of Mirrors

The Hall of Mirrors – Galerie des Glaces or Grande Galerie – the most symbolic venue of Château de Versailles, replaces a former large terrace opening over the garden, designed by Louis Le Vau. This terrace was soon abandoned and replaced by the Hall of Mirrors in 1678, after works by Jules Hardouin-Mansart.

Better known today as the Hall of Mirrors, it gets its name from the 17 arcades covered in mirrors, separated by finely carved gilded copper rods which adorn the seventeen corresponding windows. Eight busts of roman emperors in porphyry and marble, and eight statues, of which five antiques, decorate this timeless gallery, while allegories, trompe-l’oeil and perspectives by Charles Le Brun dominate it from the majestic vaulted ceiling.

Open at the time to courtiers and visitors, the Hall of Mirors was exceptionally used for ceremonies, notably princely weddings and diplomatic receptions. On these occasions, a throne was set up on a platform at one end of the gallery, at the Peace Salon end.

It is also in the Hall of Mirrors that the Treaty of Versailles was signed on June 28th 1919, bringing an end to World War I. Since then, French presidents have preserved the tradition of hosting official guests there.

Nowadays, some events are organised in the Hall of Mirrors to maintain the tradition of Louis XIV’s splendid receptions: the Fêtes Galantes, the Royal Serenade in the Hall of Mirrors and the King’s Tour, as well as some exceptional concerts.



Don't miss any event !

Subscribe Subscribe